World Organization for Development
The World Organization for Development has been endowed with consultative status with the UN ECOSOC since 2014. The World Organization for Development, which has consultative status wich the UN ECOSOC, develops and implements Global Initiatives to achieve the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

World Innovation Award

World Innovation Award

The 2023 World Innovation Award is hosted annually by the World Organization for Development, an international non-governmental organization with Special Consultative Status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council, Member of the United Nations Global Compact.


The Award honors organizations from all over the world that make a substantial contribution to the achievement of UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) through innovative digital solutions.


  1. “Good health and well-being” (SDG 3 “Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages”);
  2. “Quality education” (SDG 4 “Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all”);
  3. “Clean water and sanitation” (SDG 6 “Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all”)’;
  4. “Affordable and clean energy” (SDG 7 “Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all”);
  5. “Decent work and economic growth” (SDG 8 “Promote sustained, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment and decent work for all”);
  6. “Industry, innovation and infrastructure” (SDG 9 “Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization and foster innovation”);
  7. “Reduced inequalities” (SDG 10 “Reduce inequality within and among countries”);
  8. “Sustainable cities and communities” (SDG 11 “Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable”);
  9. “The power of partnerships” (SDG 17 “Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the Global Partnership for Sustainable Development”).

Rules and Assessment

Submissions for the Award should clearly demonstrate the Applicant’s connection and key contribution to the Initiative and contain a detailed description of the way the Initiative supports the implementation of the corresponding UN SDG, what problems it solves and what mechanisms are applied, and provide detailed evidence of the impact of the Initiative, described by both qualitative and quantitative metrics.

Submissions are analyzed by experts in digital and innovative development with the use of the Artificial Intelligence for Territorial Entities. Submissions are evaluated on the basis of the following criteria, each carrying an equal weight in the overall evaluation:

Innovativeness. The Initiative should be based on a new approach, idea or concept that are used in a way that hasn’t been used before. At that, the Initiative should present a new or significantly improved product or policy.

Relevance. The Initiative should address issues relevant and be aimed at solving tasks significant for the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

Effectiveness. The Initiative should demonstrate a proven and measurable effect in contributing to the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

Replicability. The Initiative should be transferable to other territories and communities and demonstrate a high adaptability and flexibility in implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.


For further information, please write to: